News Trend

Telangana Assembly Elections on 7th December

Telangana Assembly elections: Today at a press conference in New Delhi, the Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat announced the dates for the elections to be conducted to five States Telangana , Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Mizoram. The Commissioner announced, “ Telangana Assembly Elections will be held on 7th December 2018, on Friday, whereas the counting will be held on 11th December, the four days after the single phase poll and the result will be announced on the same day.” He also said that the polling would be held in a single phase in 119 constituencies in the state.

The Chhattisgarh will vote in two phases , on 12th November and 20th November. Rajasthan will vote on 7th December whereas Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram on 28th November. The counting for all States will be held on 11th December.

Chattisgarh Assembly term is expiring on 5th January 2019, Madhya Pradesh (MP)Assembly on 7th January 2019, Rajasthan Assembly on 20th January , 2019 and Mizoram Assembly on 15th December 2018.

TRS ( Telangana Rashtra Samithi) government in the state had dissolved the Assembly on 6th September, paving way for early elections.

OP Rawat interacted with reporters and said, “Telangana dissolved the state assembly prematurely and as per Supreme Court guidelines, it is incumbent on EC to hold the elections as soon as possible but not later than 6 months.”